concert nr 29 / TCHAIKOVSKY IN ITALY

Buy a ticket

hour 17:00 (50 minutes)
day 28.09 Saturday

music category Orchestral


Diana Tishchenko violin
Polish Radio Orchestra in Warsaw
Michał Klauza conductor


Grażyna Bacewicz Kaprys polski*
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D major Op. 35
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Capriccio Italien Op. 45

*arranged for string orchestra


Capriccio Italien is one of Tchaikovsky’s most popular works. It was written during his travels to Rome. While in his hotel room, the composer heard melodies played by street musicians and decided to use them in a musical postcard of his own. One interesting aspect of the work is the unusually rich instrumentation, with extensive use woodwinds and percussion instruments, such as the tambourine.

The other caprice in the programme is Kaprys polski, written by Grażyna Bacewicz. This work was originally written for solo violin, but at this concert we will hear an arrangement for string orchestra. The structure of the work is simpler than that of Capriccio Italien, with only one main theme (as opposed to Tchaikovsky’s work, in which there are several). However, Bacewicz’s work is very obviously Polish in character, which also makes it a musical postcard from the banks of the Vistula river.

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D major is one of the most popular, and at the same time one of the most difficult violin concertos. The soloist must not only by proficient technically, but he must also show endurance, as the work is about 40 minutes long. It is interesting to note that despite its enormity, Tchaikovsky composed it in only one month!

Partnerzy Szalonych Dni Muzyki