concert nr 26 / PICTURES FROM THE PAST

Buy a ticket

hour 16:00 (70 minutes)
day 28.09 Saturday

music category Young performers


Stefan Kisielewski  Podróż w czasie [Trip in Time]
Jean Sibelius Valse triste

Modest Mussorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition


Modest Mussorgsky’s famous cycle was inspired an exhibition of drawings and water colours by Viktor Hartmann, held soon after his death. Since both men were very close friends, Mussorgsky was deeply affected by the painter’s passing. Pictures from an Exhibition consist of ten miniatures, whose titles are identical as the original paintings. The whole cycle is linked by Promenade, reflecting the moment of walking from one work to the next. The cycle was originally written for solo piano, but was arranged for other instruments and ensembles as well. The most famous was the orchestral arrangement by Maurice Ravel – the French composer gave the musical pictures a whole new sound, practically creating them anew. 

A musical illustration of nostalgia was included by Stefan Kisielewski in his work A Trip in Time. The work is in the neo-classical style, which more or less literally refers to music from earlier periods and combines it with the achievements of contemporary music. Stefan Kisielewski was a man of many interests. He also wrote a novel with the same title. It tells the story of a soldier returning from the United States to his home town of Warsaw. The plot develops against a background of reflections that the city turns out to be different than it was when the protagonist left it.

Valse Triste by Finnish composer Jean Sibelius is a work with a programme depicting a ball full of strange figures, all dancing the waltz which resounds somewhere off in the distance… It is a beautiful vision, which unfortunately turns out to be only a delusion caused by terminal illness.

Partnerzy Szalonych Dni Muzyki